You are here

North MS Research and Extension Ctr

The North Mississippi Research and Extension Center exists to serve the needs of agriculture in northeastern Mississippi. It is a part of the Division of Agriculture, Forestry, and Veterinary Medicine of Mississippi State University (MSU), the state's Land Grant institution.

Researchers, educators and agents conduct programs in agronomy, horticulture, animal science and family life at the North Mississippi Research and Extension Center and its experiment stations and units. The personnel is made up of employees of the Mississippi Agricultural & Forestry Experiment Station (MAFES) and the Mississippi State University Extension Service (MSU-ES).

The North Mississippi Research and Extension Center consists of four research locations:

  • North Mississippi Branch Experiment Station in Holly Springs
  • Northeast Mississippi Branch Station
    • Agronomy Unit
    • Horticulture Research & Education Unit
  • Pontotoc Ridge-Flatwoods Branch Experiment Station
  • The Prairie Research Unit in Prairie

North Mississippi counties served by the area are: 
Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Lowndes, Noxubee, Marshall, Monroe, Oktibbeha, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Webster, Winston, and Yalobusha.

MSU Mailstop:
Mailing Address:
PO Box 1690
Verona , MS
Physical Address:
PO Box 1690
Verona , Mississippi


Name Job Title Email
Dr. John Kushla Extension/Research Professor
Dr. Steve Meyers Asst Extension/Research Prof
Dr. Jane Parish Professor and Head
Ms. Alex-Anne Silver Administrative Assistant I
Ms. Casey Nolan Watts Business Manager I
Dr. Jeff Wilson Assistant Professor
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Contact Your County Office

Professor and Head
Beef cattle

Recent Publications