You are here

Extension Experts

Name Extension Topic Telephone Email Title

Ms. Madison Chapman Ainsworth

EFNEP
SNAP-Ed
228-546-1008 mcd111@msstate.edu Regional Registered Dietitian

Dr. Ryan Akers

Disaster Response-Youth
CERT
662-325-5914 cra20@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Tom Allen, Jr.

Plant Diseases 662-686-9311 tom.allen@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Esmaeil Amiri

Apiculture: Honey Bee Health 662-686-3215 ea795@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Joy Fox Anderson

Produce Safety 662-469-8480 joy.f.anderson@msstate.edu Extension Specialist I

Dr. Jimmy L. Avery

Catfish 662-686-3273 jimmy.avery@msstate.edu Extension Professor & Director

Mr. Butch Bailey

Beginning Forestry
Longleaf Pine
(601) 794-0671 butch.bailey@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Beth Harlander Baker

Environment
REACH
STARS
Mississippi Water Stewards
Water Quality
662-325-7491 beth.baker@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Ms. Clarissa J. Balbalian

Plant Diseases and Nematode Diagnostic Services 662-325-2146 c.balbalian@msstate.edu Diagnostic Lab Manager

Mr. Tom Ball

Oil and Gas
Disaster Preparedness
Disaster Response
Coronavirus
662-325-3141 t.ball@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Alan Barefield

Economic Development
Leadership
Rural Development
(662) 325-7995 alan.barefield@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. James Newton Barnes

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
Local Flavor
Economic Development
Rural Development
662 325 2750 james.barnes@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Jason Barrett

Oil and Gas
Public Water System Assistance Program
Mississippi Well Owner Network
Rural Water Association
SipSafe
Water Quality
662.325.1788 jason.barrett@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Jason Bond

Weed Control for Crops 662-686-9311 jason.bond@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Shaun Robert Broderick

Lawn and Garden 601-892-3731 shaun.broderick@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Mr. Robert F. Brzuszek

Landscape Architecture
Healthy Soils and Water
Smart Landscapes
Diversity of Plants
Healthy Soils
Healthy Water Practices
Integrated Pest Control
Places for Wildlife
662-325-3012 rfb7@msstate.edu Professor

Dr. Leslie M. Burger

Wildlife Youth Education
REACH
STARS
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
325.6686 leslie.burger@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. David Buys

Local Flavor
Junior Master Wellness Volunteer
Healthy Homes Initiative
Health
AIM for CHangE
Coronavirus
The PROMISE Initiative
Prescription Opioid Misuse
Mental Health First Aid
Farm Stress
662-325-3060 david.buys@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. John D. Byrd, Jr.

Weed Control for Forages
Weed Control for Lawn and Garden
662-325-4537 jdb4@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Sylvia H. Byrd

Nutrition
EFNEP
SNAP-Ed
(662)-325-0919 shb5@msstate.edu Prf & Head, Off Nutrition Educ

Dr. Jason Camp

Mississippi County Elections: Election Prep 101 662-325-3141 jason.camp@msstate.edu Extension Specialist I

Dr. Dominga Elizabeth Canales Medina

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
Local Flavor
662 325 2750 elizabeth.canales@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. Rachael Carter

Agri-tourism
Growing Your Brand
Local Flavor
Oil and Gas
Economic Development
Rural Development
662-325-8329 rdm1@msstate.edu Extension Specialist I

Dr. Clay A. Cavinder

4-H Livestock Program
Youth Livestock
Youth Horse
Equine
662-325-3516 clay.cavinder@msstate.edu Professor

Ms. Sylvia Clark

Women for Agriculture
Leadership
Master Clothing Volunteers
Mississippi Homemaker Volunteers
662-325-1696 shc48@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Christine E. Coker

Crops
Commercial Horticulture
Other Vegetables
Local Flavor
2285461013 christine.coker@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Alba J. Collart Dinarte

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
Local Flavor
(662) 325-0413 alba.collart@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Courtney Crist

Local Flavor
Food Safety
ServSafe
Coronavirus
6623250852 cac400@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Ms. Whitney Desiree Crow

Insects-Crop Pests 662-325-2085 wdc165@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Mr. Sumner D. Davis, III

City and County Government 662-325-3141 sumner.davis@msstate.edu Head, Ext Ctr Govt & Comm Dev

Dr. Louise E. Davis

Children and Parenting
MSU Extension Head Start
6623253083 led3@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. James M. DelPrince

Cut Flowers and Houseplants
Floral Design
228-388-4710 j.delprince@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Darrin Dodds

Cotton 662-325-4072 dmd76@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Ms. Patricia R. Drackett

Smart Landscapes
Diversity of Plants
Places for Wildlife
Energy Savings
Healthy Water Practices
Integrated Pest Control
Healthy Soils
601-799-2311 pat.drackett@msstate.edu Assc Extension Prof & Director

Dr. James Marcus Drymon

Marine Resources 228-388-4710 marcus.drymon@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Ms. Leah Elizabeth Gann

SipSafe 662.325.3295 leah.gann@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Drew Miller Gholson

Crops
Master Irrigator
Irrigation
662-686-9311 drew.gholson@msstate.edu Asst Professor & Coord, NCAAR

Dr. Jerome Goddard

Insects-Human Pests
Insects-Pet Pests
662-325-2085 jg54@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Donald Grebner

Forestry 662-325-2949 don.grebner@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Ms. Elizabeth Powell Gregory North

Local Flavor 662-325-2262 elizabeth.north@msstate.edu Head, Ag Communications

Mr. Alexis H Hamilton

AIM for CHangE 662-873-4246 alexis.hamilton@msstate.edu Extension Agent I

Mr. Bill Hamrick

Wildlife
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
662.325.3429 w.hamrick@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Mr. Steve Hankins

Technology 662-325-0671 s.hankins@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Alisha Marie Hardman

Undergraduate Apprenticeship Program
Children and Parenting
MSU Extension Head Start
(662) 325-7839 a.hardman@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. Jeffrey W. Harris

Beekeeping
Apiculture: Honey Bee Health
662-325-2085 jeff.harris@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Ms. Jasmine Raniece Harris-Speight

Junior Master Wellness Volunteer
Healthy Homes Initiative
ServSafe
662-325-6640 jrh667@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Lorin Harvey

Sweet Potatoes 662-490-1954 lorin.harvey@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Mr. Thomas Martin Hegwood

Community
Oil and Gas
662-325-3141 martin.hegwood@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Alan Henn

Plant Diseases
Plant Diseases and Nematode Diagnostic Services
662.769.9880 a.henn@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Ms. Anne Howard Hilbun-Benoit

Disaster Preparedness
Disaster Response
Coronavirus
662-325-3141 anne.hilbun@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Carla L. Huston

Animal Health
Disaster Preparedness
Disaster Response
662-325-1183 carla.huston@msstate.edu Prof/Dir/Enh Cln Educ/Ext Vet

Dr. Jon Trenton Irby

Soybeans 662-325-2311 trent.irby@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Ms. Lori Jones Irvin

Equine Assisted Therapy Programs 662.325.2950 lji14@msstate.edu Extension Associate II

Dr. Keri Denley Jones

Soil Testing 662-325-3313 kkd1@msstate.edu Laboratory Coordinator

Dr. Daryl Jones

Natural Resources
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
662-325-5769 daryl.jones@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Dean Jousan

Youth Livestock
Youth Horse
662-325-2424 dean.jousan@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Brandi Bourg Karisch

Beef 6623257465 brandi.karisch@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Ms. Dorothy Kenda

EFNEP
SNAP-Ed
601-857-2284 dk1033@msstate.edu Regional Registered Dietitian

Mr. Kase Joseph Kingery

Public Water System Assistance Program 662-325-4453 kase.kingery@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Erick J. Larson

Corn
Grains
Wheat
662-325-2701 e.larson@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Blake Layton, Jr.

Insects-Crop Pests
Insects-Forage Pests
Insects
Fire Ants
Household Insects
Insect Identification
Termites
Insects-Home Lawns
Insects-Ornamental Plants
Insects-Pests
Insects-Vegetable Gardens
662-325-2085 blake.layton@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Rocky Lemus

Crops
Biofuels
Forages
Fertilizers - Forages
Grasses
Legumes
Management - Forages
662-325-7718 rocky.lemus@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Ms. Debra Patton Lloyd

Leadership
Ambassador Program
SAFETY Ambassador Program
662-325-0229 dpl4@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Mrs. Qula Madkin

Health
Dining with Diabetes
Nutrition and Wellness
6601-526-3875 jmg11@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Joshua Gilchrist Maples

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
662 325 2750 josh.maples@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. James Dewey McCurdy

Weed Control for Crops
Lawn and Garden
Turfgrass and Lawn Management
662-325-2311 james.d.mccurdy@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Mr. Nelson Albert McGough, Jr.

SipSafe 662.325.3295 nelson.mcgough@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Rebecca A. Melanson

Plant Diseases
Fruit and Nut Diseases
Fruit and Nut Disease Calendar
Fruit and Nut Disease Publications
Fruit and Nut Disease Updates
Plant Diseases and Nematode Diagnostic Services
Vegetable Diseases
Vegetable Disease Calendar
Vegetable Disease Publications
Vegetable Disease Updates
601-857-2284 rebecca.melanson@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Mr. Marvin E. Merkl, Jr.

Pesticide Applicator Certification 662-325-2085 gm53@msstate.edu Program Manager

Dr. Wes Neal

Fisheries
Pond and Lake Management
Construction
Stocking
Pond and Lake Water Quality
Fish Management
Invasive Plants
Water Weeds
Wildlife
6623258363 wes.neal@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Mr. Lance Newman

Youth Livestock 662 234 4451 lance.newman@msstate.edu Interim Regional Coordinator &

Dr. Michael Newman

About TCALP
Advisory Council
Contact TCALP
TCALP Class News
TCALP Class Notes
TCALP Frequently Asked Questions
662-325-3462 michael.e.newman@msstate.edu Professor and Director

Ms. LC Nickels

Growing Your Brand
Technology
662.325.2596 laurencolby.nickels@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Larry Oldham

Soils
Mississippi Land Resource Areas
Soil Acidity
Soil Fertility
Soil Health
REACH
Waste Management
662-325-2760 larry.oldham@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Mr. Justin Wayne Palmer

SipSafe 662.325.3295 justin.palmer@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Jane Parish

Beef 662-566-8000 j.parish@msstate.edu Professor & Head & Int Head

Ms. Tamberla R. Parker

4-H Shooting Sports
MS Volunteer Leaders Association
662-286-7756 tammy.parker@msstate.edu Extension Agent III

Dr. Brian K. Pieralisi

Cotton 662-325-2311 bkp4@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Mr. William Green Poindexter, IV

Agri-tourism 662-325-3141 william.poindexter@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Ben Posadas

Agricultural Economics
Local Flavor
Seafood Economics
Seafood Harvesting and Processing
228-546-1024 ben.posadas@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Ms. Yolanda Ellis Pruitt

AIM for CHangE 662-325-3200 yep11@msstate.edu Program Manager

Ms. Leyla Rios de Alvarez

Goats and Sheep 662-325-3516 leyla.rios@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Dr. Adam Rohnke

Natural Resources
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
601-857-2284 adam.rohnke@msstate.edu Extension Specialist I

Dr. Brett Rushing

Biofuels
Forages
Fertilizers - Forages
Grasses
Management - Forages
601-683-2084 brett.rushing@msstate.edu Assoc Ext/Res Prof & Fac Coord

Mr. Dillon Aaron Russell

Master Irrigator 662-686-9311 dar335@msstate.edu Extension Associate II

Mr. Cobie Rutherford, Jr.

Leadership 662-325-3353 cobie.rutherford@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Ms. Ann Sansing

Junior Master Wellness Volunteer
Rural Health
662-325-4043 aps6@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Jenna Schilling

TummySafe 662-325-8930 jenna.schilling@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Brady Self

Forestry
Beginning Forestry
Timber Harvest
662-226-6000 brady.self@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Juan L. Silva

Local Flavor
Food Safety
Produce Safety
662-325-2160 jls46@msstate.edu Professor

Dr. Eddie Miles Louis Smith

Smart Landscapes
Diversity of Plants
Places for Wildlife
Energy Savings
Healthy Water Practices
Integrated Pest Control
Healthy Soils
601-403-2280 eddie.smith@msstate.edu Extension Agent IV*

Dr. Rebecca Campbell Smith

Agricultural Economics
Agri-tourism
2020 Census
Economic Development
Extension Center for Economic Education and Financial Literacy
Family Financial Management
Coronavirus
662 325 2750 becky.smith@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Eric L. Sparks

Marine Resources
Mississippi Water Stewards
Water Quality
228-388-4710 eric.sparks@msstate.edu Assc Extension Prof & Director

Ms. Bekah Sparks

Technology 662-325-8581 b.sparks@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Eric Thomas Stafne

Commercial Fruit and Nuts
Fruit
Nuts
Local Flavor
601-403-8939 eric.stafne@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Mr. Bradley Vann Staton

ATV Safety 325-3350 bvs27@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Barry R. Stewart

Turfgrass and Lawn Management 662-325-2311 brs40@msstate.edu Professor

Dr. Amanda Elizabeth Stone

Youth Livestock
Dairy
662-325-3516 amanda.stone@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. Bronson Strickland

Wildlife
Chronic Wasting Disease
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
Snakes
Waterfowl
White-Tailed Deer
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
662-325-3174 bronson.strickland@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Mary L. Tagert

Irrigation 662/325-3282 mlm23@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Ms. Jamila B. Taylor

Children and Parenting
MSU Extension Head Start
662.325.2950 jbt244@msstate.edu Director, Head Start & EHS Prg

Dr. Lee Gray Turnage, Jr.

Water Weeds 325-9491 lgt4@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Curtis L. VanderSchaaf

Forestry
Carbon Credits
601-857-2284 clv127@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Dr. Jamie Rone Varner

Technology
Master Technology Innovator (MTI)
662-325-3226 j.varner@msstate.edu Extension Specialist I

Mr. Louis L. Wasson

Field Scale Crop Assessment with Drones 325-4595 louis.wasson@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Dr. Jessica Benoit Wells

Youth Poultry
Poultry
Avian Flu
662-325-3416 j.wells@msstate.edu Asst Clinical/Ext Professor

Dr. Julie Broussard White

FARMtastic 662-325-8195 j.white@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Ms. Kelli L. Whitten

EFNEP
SNAP-Ed
662-686-9311 knl32@msstate.edu Regional Registered Dietitian

Ms. Samantha Ann Willcutt

EFNEP
SNAP-Ed
662-566-8025 saw6@msstate.edu Regional Registered Dietitian

Dr. J. Byron Williams

Food Safety 601-857-2284 b.williams@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Jeff Wilson

Local Flavor
Master Gardener
662.566.8019 jeff.wilson@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Ms. Leslie Hunter Woolington

Farm Safety l.woolington@msstate.edu Risk Mgmt/Loss Ctrl Mgr

Mr. James R. Wooten

Biofuels 662-325-3603 james.wooten@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Brendan Zurweller

Peanuts 662-325-2311 brendan.zurweller@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email