You are here

Extension Experts

Name Extension Topic Telephone Email Title

Mr. Lamar Adams

Youth Livestock 601-783-5321 lamar.adams@msstate.edu Extension Agent IV*

Dr. Christopher Ryan Akers

Disaster Response-Youth 662.325.2950 cra20@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Larry Alexander

4-H Safety Programs
ATV Safety
Youth Projects
662-325-3350 larry.alexander@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. John B. Auel

Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
662-325-7948 john.b.auel@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Jimmy L. Avery

Catfish 662-686-3273 jimmy.avery@msstate.edu Extension Professor & Director

Dr. Gary R. Bachman

Lawn and Garden
Flower Gardens
228-546-1009 gary.bachman@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Mr. Butch Bailey

Forest Pests
Urban and Community Forestry
(601) 794-0671 butch.bailey@msstate.edu Extension Associate II

Dr. Beth Harlander Baker

Environment
Water Quality
662-325-7491 beth.baker@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Tom Ball

Disaster Preparedness
Disaster Response
662-325-3141 t.ball@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Alan Barefield

Public Water System Assistance Program
Economic Development
Leadership
Rural Development
(662) 325-7995 alan.barefield@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. James Newton Barnes

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
Economic Development
Rural Development
662 325 2750 james.barnes@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Jason Barrett

Mississippi Well Owner Network
Rural Water Association
Water Quality
662.325.1788 jason.barrett@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Preston Hamilton Beatty

Small Business 662-325-3141 h.beatty@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Ms. Lauren Harris Behel

Public Water System Assistance Program 662 325 6807 lauren.behel@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Jason Bond

Weed Control for Crops 662-686-9311 jason.bond@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Shaun Robert Broderick

Lawn and Garden 601-892-3731 shaun.broderick@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Mr. Kipp Brown

Youth Livestock
Goats and Sheep
662-237-6926 kipp.brown@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Mr. Robert F. Brzuszek

Landscape Architecture
Landscape Design and Management
Mississippi Landscape Gallery
662-325-3012 rfb7@msstate.edu Professor

Dr. Leslie M. Burger

Wildlife Youth Education
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
325.6686 leslie.burger@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. David Buys

Junior Master Wellness Volunteer
Healthy Homes Initiative
Health
662-325-3060 david.buys@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Sylvia H. Byrd

Nutrition 662-325-0852 shb5@msstate.edu Professor & Project Director

Dr. John D. Byrd, Jr.

Weed Control for Forages
Weed Control for Lawn and Garden
662-325-4537 jdb4@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Dominga Elizabeth Canales Medina

Agricultural Economics
Agri-business
662 325 2750 elizabeth.canales@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Ms. Helen T. Carter

Technology 662-325-3226 r.carter@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Ms. Rachael Carter

Agri-tourism
Economic Development
Rural Development
662-325-8329 rdm1@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Angus L. Catchot, Jr.

Insects-Crop Pests (662) 325-2085 alc4@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Clay A. Cavinder

Equine 662-325-3516 clay.cavinder@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Ms. Sylvia Clark

Women for Agriculture
Leadership
Master Clothing Volunteers
662-325-1696 shc48@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Keith H. Coble

Agricultural Economics
Precision Agriculture
662 325 2750 keith.coble@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Dr. Christine E. Coker

Commercial Horticulture 2285461013 christine.coker@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Alba J. Collart Dinarte

Agri-business
Agricultural Economics
(662) 325-0413 alba.collart@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Ms. Susan Cosgrove

Family Financial Management
Healthy Homes Initiative
601-635-7011 s.cosgrove@msstate.edu Area Extension Agent IV

Mr. Cliff Covington

Wildlife 601-857-2284 cliff.covington@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Mark A. Crenshaw

Youth Livestock
Swine
662-325-1689 mark.crenshaw@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Courtney Crist

Food Safety 6623250852 cac400@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Sumner D. Davis, III

City and County Government 662-325-3141 sumner.davis@msstate.edu Head, Ext Ctr Govt & Comm Dev

Dr. Louise E. Davis

Children and Parenting 6623253083 led3@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Jeffrey F. Dean

Biotechnology 662-325-2085 jeff.dean@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Dr. Marina D' Abreau Denny

Undergraduate Apprenticeship Program 662.325.2950 mdd269@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Dr. Stephen G. Dicke

Trees
Disaster Recovery
Forest Economics
Marketing
Taxation
Beginning Forestry
Christmas Trees
Forest Pests
Longleaf Pine
Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
Urban and Community Forestry
601-857-2284 stephen.g.dicke@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Darrin Dodds

Cotton 662-325-4072 dmd76@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Andrew W. Ezell

Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
662-325-1688 a.w.ezell@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Dr. Lawrence L. Falconer

Agricultural Economics 662-686-9311 larry.falconer@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Brent Fountain

Health and Wellness
Food Safety
ServSafe
Nutrition
(662) 325-0849 brent.j.fountain@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Roberto Gallardo Estrella

Technology 662-325-3226 roberto.gallardo@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Jerome Goddard

Insects-Human Pests
Insects-Pet Pests
Household Insects
662-325-2085 jg54@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Bobby Richard Golden

Soils
Rice
662-686-3215 bobby.golden@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Jason S. Gordon

Disaster Recovery
Frequently Asked Questions
Urban and Community Forestry
662-325-8851 j.gordon@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Mr. Ted Thompson Gordon

Farm Safety 662-566-2201 t.gordon@msstate.edu Risk Mgmt/Loss Ctrl Mgr

Mr. Bill Hamrick

Wildlife
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
662.325.3429 w.hamrick@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Mr. Steve Hankins

Technology 662-325-0671 s.hankins@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Jeffrey W. Harris

Beekeeping 662-325-2085 jeff.harris@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Alan Henn

Plant Diseases 662.769.9880 a.henn@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Glenn Hughes

Disaster Recovery
Marketing
Beginning Forestry
Forest Pests
Longleaf Pine
Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
601-794-0671 glenn.hughes@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Carla L. Huston

Animal Health
Disaster Preparedness
Disaster Response
662-325-1183 carla.huston@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Dr. Jon Trenton Irby

Soybeans 662-325-2311 trent.irby@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Martha Jackson-Banks

Ambassador Program 601-857-2284 m.jackson-banks@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Daryl Jones

Wildlife Economics and Enterprises 662-325-5769 daryl.jones@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Dean Jousan

Youth Livestock 662-325-2424 dean.jousan@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. Brandi Bourg Karisch

Youth Livestock
Beef
6623257465 brandi.karisch@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Lelia Scott Kelly

Master Gardener
Lawn and Garden
Flower Gardens
Gardening Through the Seasons Video
Herb Gardens
Houseplants
Youth Gardening
662-566-2201 lelia.kelly@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Larry J. Krutz

Irrigation
Water
Mississippi Well Owner Network
(662)686-9311 j.krutz@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. John Kushla

Marketing
Forest Management
Agroforestry
Beginning Forestry
Christmas Trees
Forest Pests
Forest Soils
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
Urban and Community Forestry
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
662-566-8013 john.kushla@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Erick J. Larson

Corn
Grains
Wheat
662-325-2701 e.larson@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Blake Layton, Jr.

Insects-Forage Pests
Insects
Fire Ants
Household Insects
Insect Identification
Termites
Insects-Home Lawns
Insects-Ornamental Plants
Insects-Pests
Insects-Vegetable Gardens
662-325-2085 blake.layton@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Rocky Lemus

Forages
Fertilizers - Forages
Grasses
Legumes
Management - Forages
Biofuels
662-325-7718 rocky.lemus@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. John L. Long

4-H Safety Programs
Shooting Sports
Collegiate 4-H
662-325-3350 john.long@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Joshua Gilchrist Maples

Agri-business
Agricultural Economics
662 325 2750 josh.maples@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Dr. James Dewey McCurdy

Turfgrass and Lawn Management
Weed Control for Lawn and Garden
662-325-2311 james.d.mccurdy@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Mr. Marc Measells

Forest Economics
Forestry Impacts
Marketing
Timber Prices
Urban and Community Forestry
662-325-3550 mkm2@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Rebecca A. Melanson

Plant Diseases 601-857-2284 rebecca.melanson@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Marvin E. Merkl, Jr.

Pesticide Applicator Certification 662-325-2085 gm53@msstate.edu Program Manager

Dr. Steve Meyers

Sweet Potatoes 662-489-4621 stephen.meyers@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Mariah Smith Morgan

Technology 662-325-3226 mariah.s.morgan@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Wes Neal

Fisheries
Invasive Plants
6623258363 wes.neal@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Mr. Lance Newman

Youth Livestock 662 234 4451 lance.newman@msstate.edu Area Extension Agent III

Dr. Larry Oldham

Soils
Environment
Waste Management
662-325-2760 larry.oldham@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Mr. Austin R. Omer

Water Quality 662-325-5769 aro74@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Jane Parish

Beef 662-369-4426 j.parish@msstate.edu Professor and Head

Ms. Tamberla R. Parker

Volunteers
MS Volunteer Leaders Association
662-286-7756 tammy.parker@msstate.edu Extension Agent II

Dr. Bryon J. Parman

Agricultural Economics 662-325-2887 bryon.parman@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Mr. Mark Alan Peterman

Catfish 6623235916 mark.peterman@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Ben Posadas

Agri-business
Seafood Economics
228-546-1024 ben.posadas@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Jonathan W. Pote

Water Quality 662/325-3282 jwp1@msstate.edu Prof/Head/Exec Dir/Endow Prof

Dr. Daniel Rivera

Beef 6014038777 daniel.rivera@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Mr. Adam Rohnke

Wildlife
Northern Bobwhite Quail
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
Snakes
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
Waterfowl
White-Tailed Deer
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
601-857-2284 adam.rohnke@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Dr. Randy Rousseau

Carbon Credits
Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
662-325-2777 rjr84@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Brett Rushing

Biofuels
Forages
Grasses
Management - Forages
601-683-2084 brett.rushing@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Mr. Cobie Rutherford, Jr.

Beef 662-325-4344 cobie.rutherford@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Scott A. Samson

Remote Sensing Technology
Precision Agriculture
(662) 325-9491 sas11@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Ms. Ann Sansing

Junior Master Wellness Volunteer
Rural Health
662-325-4043 aps6@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Jason M. Sarver

Peanuts 662-769-9977 jason.sarver@msstate.edu Asst Extension/Research Prof

Dr. Jenna Schilling

TummySafe 662-325-8930 jenna.schilling@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

Dr. Brady Self

Marketing
Beginning Forestry
Forest Pests
Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
662-226-6000 brady.self@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Rebecca Campbell Smith

Agri-tourism
Economic Development
Extension Center for Economic Education and Financial Literacy
Family Financial Management
662 325 2750 becky.smith@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Rick Snyder

Commercial Horticulture
Greenhouse Tomatoes
Vegetable Gardens
601-892-3731 rick.snyder@msstate.edu Extension/Research Professor

Dr. Eric L. Sparks

Marine Resources 228-388-4710 eric.sparks@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Ms. Rebekah Buckley Sparks

Technology 662-325-3226 b.sparks@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Eric Thomas Stafne

Fruit
Nuts
Commercial Fruit and Nuts
601-403-8939 eric.stafne@msstate.edu Assoc Extension/Research Prof

Mr. Bradley Vann Staton

ATV Safety 325-3350 bvs27@msstate.edu Extension Associate I

Dr. Barry R. Stewart

Turfgrass and Lawn Management 662-325-2311 brs40@msstate.edu Associate Professor

Ms. Amanda Elizabeth Stone

Dairy 662-325-3516 amanda.stone@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Dr. Bronson Strickland

Wildlife
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
Waterfowl
White-Tailed Deer
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
662-325-3174 bronson.strickland@msstate.edu Associate Extension Professor

Dr. George Thomas Tabler

Poultry 662-325-3416 t.tabler@msstate.edu Extension Professor

Dr. Mary L. Tagert

Mississippi Well Owner Network
Water Quality
662/325-3282 mlm23@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. Jessica Lynn Tegt

Wildlife Youth Education
Nuisance Wildlife and Damage Management
Urban and Backyard Wildlife
662-325-5769 jessica.tegt@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Ms. Connie C. Templeton

Technology 662-325-3226 connie.templeton@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Dr. Paula Threadgill

4-H
Ambassador Program
Mississippi Homemaker Volunteers
325-3032 paula.threadgill@msstate.edu Assc Dir, FCS & 4H & Ext Prof

Mr. T. Adam Tullos

Wildlife
Northern Bobwhite Quail
Snakes
Waterfowl
White-Tailed Deer
Wildlife Economics and Enterprises
662.566.2201 adam.tullos@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Ms. Jamie Rone Varner

Technology 662-325-3226 j.varner@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Mr. Louis L. Wasson

Precision Agriculture 325-4595 llw13@msstate.edu Senior Extension Associate

Ms. Jessica Benoit Wells

Youth Poultry
Poultry
662-325-3416 j.wells@msstate.edu Extension Instructor

Ms. Julie Broussard White

FARMtastic 662-325-8195 j.white@msstate.edu Extension Associate II

Dr. Brian R. Williams

Agricultural Economics 662-325-2676 brian.williams@msstate.edu Assistant Extension Professor

Dr. John L. Willis

Forest Ecology
Forest Pests
Longleaf Pine
Pine Straw Mulch Production
Regeneration
Frequently Asked Questions
Timber Harvest
662-325-0523 j.willis@msstate.edu Assistant Professor

Mr. James R. Wooten

Biofuels 662-325-3603 james.wooten@msstate.edu Extension Associate III

 

Printer Friendly and PDF