You are here

ATV Licensed Instructors

Licensed ASI RiderCourse Instructors

Region Instructor County Email Phone
Northeast District Anna Austin Montgomery County anna.austin@msstate.edu 662-283-4133
Northeast District Darrell Banks Choctaw County darrell.l.banks@msstate.edu 662-285-6337
Northeast District Fran Brock Oktibbeha County fran.brock@msstate.edu  662-323-5916
Northeast District B J McClenton Clay County b.mcclenton@msstate.edu 662-494-5371
Northeast District Randall Nevins Monroe County rand.nevins@msstate.edu 662-369-4951
Northeast District Reid Nevins Lowndes County ran18@msstate.edu 662-328-2111
Northeast District Lemon Phelps Marshall County lemon.phelps@msstate.edu 662-252-3541
Northeast District Tracy Robertson Carroll County t.robertson@msstate.edu 662-237-6926
Northwest District Lionell Hinds Washington County lionell.hinds@msstate.edu 662-334-2670
Northwest District Katrina Owens Yazoo County Katrina.owens@msstate.edu 662-746-2453
Southeast District Christy King Clarke County k.king@msstate.edu 601-776-3951
Southwest District Rilondricks Beeman Jefferson County r.beeman@msstate.edu 601-786-3131
Southwest District Lionel Brown, Jr. Wilkinson County lionel.brown@msstate.edu 601-888-3211
Southwest District Jason Hurdle Scott County Jason.hurdle@msstate.edu 601-469-4241
State Level Brad Staton MSU-ES bvs27@msstate.edu 662-325-3350
State Coordinator Larry Alexander MSU-ES larry.alexander@msstate.edu 662-325-3350
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Publications

Publication Number: M1742

News

Three young people drive ATVs on a marked course in a field during a safety training.
Filed Under: ATV Safety September 18, 2018

Abbye Buchanan, of Florence, is the 2018 winner of the Mississippi State University Extension Service 4-H ATV Safety PSA Contest. Buchanan is 11 years old and has been a member of 4-H for 3 years. (File photo/MSU Extension Service)

A teenage boy in a blue and white long-sleeved shirt and protective gear, including a red and black helmet and black gloves, rides a red ATV around orange cones during a safety class. (Kevin Hudson)
Filed Under: 4-H, 4-H Safety Programs, ATV Safety June 5, 2018

It's ATV Safety Week! (Photo by Kevin Hudson)

A young rider in full safety gear navigates a turn on an all-terrain vehicle.
Filed Under: ATV Safety May 18, 2018

June 2-10 is ATV Safety Week  

WEST POINT, Miss. -- Many Mississippians enjoy the usefulness and thrill of riding all-terrain vehicles, but the dangerous nature of these machines is highlighted in the June 2-10 4-H ATV Safety Week.

Mississippi ranks 15th in the nation in ATV-related deaths. In 2017, nine youngsters died after suffering traumatic injuries in ATV accidents.

A hunter in camouflage and an orange vest places his rifle into storage on the back of an ATV in the woods.
Filed Under: ATV Safety November 30, 2017

STARKVILLE, Miss. -- Hunting and driving all-terrain vehicles are so linked in Mississippi that many people forget safety precautions when using these powerful machines.

Bradley Staton, Mississippi State University Extension Service 4-H ATV associate, offered a few tips to increase the chances that people will have a safe time in the woods on ATVs.

"Always wear protective gear," Staton said. "That means a helmet to protect the head if you lose control and flip the ATV, and appropriate clothing, including long sleeves, a jacket and boots. And, since it's hunting season, always wear an orange vest so others hunters in the same area can see you."

Use off-road vehicles on designated trails, such as this one at the Jimmy Bryan 4-H Youth Complex in West Point, Mississippi, to reduce negative impacts on the environment. (Photo by MSU Extension Service/Leslie Burger)
Filed Under: ATV Safety, Wildlife September 9, 2016

STARKVILLE, Miss. -- Speeding along a wooded trail on a bright, chilly morning can bring a lot of enjoyment and excitement. And it sure is a lot easier getting to that back-country deer blind or dove field if you can load up all the gear and head off on wheels.

But the off-road vehicle you may be riding -- whether a 4x4 all-terrain vehicle, side-by-side utility vehicle or dirt bike -- has some downsides. While undeniably fun and useful in transportation, an off-road vehicle can also be an environmental hazard and personal nuisance when used incorrectly.  

Contact Your County Office

Your Extension Experts

Extension Professor
4-H Project Achievement Days, Club Congress, Contest, Engineering Liaison, State Fair, Record Book P
Extension Associate I