You are here

Filed Under:

Theriogeneology society honors MSU professor

MSU Extension Service

STARKVILLE, Miss. – The American College of Theriogenologists has presented its highest honor to a professor in the Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Richard Hopper
Richard Hopper

Dr. Richard Hopper received the 2016 Theriogenologist of the Year award, the ACT recently announced. Hopper is a professor in the CVM’s Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine. The award recognizes theriogenologists for their contributions to the discipline of veterinary medicine focusing on reproduction.

Hopper is among many members in the ACT who promote animal well-being, reproductive health and responsible breeding practices. He has nearly 40 years of professional career service in reproductive veterinary medicine, having joined the MSU faculty in 1993 after 15 years of operating his own practice.

Dr. Bill Epperson, professor and head of the Department of Pathobiology and Population Medicine, said Hopper has made many contributions to animal reproductive health as researcher, teacher and mentor.

“This is an award that recognizes a professional lifetime of achievement and the greatest contributions to the field of reproductive health. In his contribution at MSU, Dr. Hopper built the foundations of a first-class theriogenology training program. He mentored several practicing veterinarians and numerous residents to successful completion of the reproduction health specialty. In doing this, he has had direct impact on the reproductive efficiency of animals, which benefits all of our producers and animal owners.”

Hopper was also named Veterinarian of the Year for Mississippi in 2008 by the Mississippi Veterinary Medical Association.

Contact: Karen Templeton, 662-325-1100
High Resolution Photograph

Released: May 12, 2016
Printer Friendly and PDF

Contact Your County Office

Your Extension Experts

Associate Professor
Beef Cattle Health Animal Disaster Response Epidemiology Preventive Medicine