You are here

ATV Licensed Instructors

Licensed ASI RiderCourse Instructors

Region Instructor County Email Phone
Northeast District Anna Austin Montgomery County anna.austin@msstate.edu 662-283-4133
Northeast District Darrell Banks Choctaw County darrell.l.banks@msstate.edu 662-285-6337
Northeast District Fran Brock Oktibbeha County fran.brock@msstate.edu  662-323-5916
Northeast District B J McClenton Clay County b.mcclenton@msstate.edu 662-494-5371
Northeast District Randall Nevins Monroe County rand.nevins@msstate.edu 662-369-4951
Northeast District Reid Nevins Lowndes County ran18@msstate.edu 662-328-2111
Northeast District Lemon Phelps Marshall County lemon.phelps@msstate.edu 662-252-3541
Northeast District Tracy Robertson Carroll County t.robertson@msstate.edu 662-237-6926
Northwest District Lionell Hinds Washington County lionell.hinds@msstate.edu 662-334-2670
Northwest District Katrina Owens Yazoo County Katrina.owens@msstate.edu 662-746-2453
Southeast District Christy King Clarke County k.king@msstate.edu 601-776-3951
Southwest District Rilondricks Beeman Jefferson County r.beeman@msstate.edu 601-786-3131
Southwest District Lionel Brown, Jr. Wilkinson County lionel.brown@msstate.edu 601-888-3211
Southwest District Jason Hurdle Scott County Jason.hurdle@msstate.edu 601-469-4241
State Level Brad Staton MSU-ES bvs27@msstate.edu 662-325-3350
State Coordinator Larry Alexander MSU-ES larry.alexander@msstate.edu 662-325-3350
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Publications

Publication Number: M1742
Publication Number: P3325
Publication Number: P3324

News

Three young people sit on ATVs as they listen to their instructor.
Filed Under: 4-H, 4-H Safety Programs, ATV Safety February 23, 2022

A recent grant award is helping provide all-terrain vehicle safety training to Mississippi 4-H’ers. The Mississippi State University Extension Service 4-H ATV Safety Program recently received $10,000 from Polaris through the company’s T.R.A.I.L.S. grant program. The funds purchased two youth sized Polaris ATVs and safety equipment. T.R.A.I.L.S. is an acronym for trail development, responsible riding, access, initiatives, lobbying and safety.

Safety gear for ATV riding includes helmets, gloves, long pants and long sleeves. Young people should ride ATVs designed for their size rather than full-size ATVs designed for adult riders. (Photo by MSU Extension Service/Bonnie Coblentz)
Filed Under: ATV Safety May 31, 2019

All-terrain vehicles are commonly used in Mississippi for entertainment and work, but driving them dangerously is a frequent cause of injuries and death.

Three young people drive ATVs on a marked course in a field during a safety training.
Filed Under: ATV Safety September 18, 2018

Abbye Buchanan, of Florence, is the 2018 winner of the Mississippi State University Extension Service 4-H ATV Safety PSA Contest. Buchanan is 11 years old and has been a member of 4-H for 3 years. (File photo/MSU Extension Service)

A teenage boy in a blue and white long-sleeved shirt and protective gear, including a red and black helmet and black gloves, rides a red ATV around orange cones during a safety class. (Kevin Hudson)
Filed Under: 4-H, 4-H Safety Programs, ATV Safety June 5, 2018

It's ATV Safety Week! (Photo by Kevin Hudson)

A young rider in full safety gear navigates a turn on an all-terrain vehicle.
Filed Under: ATV Safety May 18, 2018

June 2-10 is ATV Safety Week  

WEST POINT, Miss. -- Many Mississippians enjoy the usefulness and thrill of riding all-terrain vehicles, but the dangerous nature of these machines is highlighted in the June 2-10 4-H ATV Safety Week.

Mississippi ranks 15th in the nation in ATV-related deaths. In 2017, nine youngsters died after suffering traumatic injuries in ATV accidents.

Success Stories

Several men on ATVs lined up.
ATV Safety
Volume 2 Number 2

Extension ATV training helps cancer survivors’ wishes come true

Getting a driver’s license and going through ATV safety training are rites of passage for many Mississippi teens, but, for two young outdoorsmen, achieving these goals meant much more

Select Your County Office

Your Extension Experts

Portrait of Mr. Bradley Vann Staton
Extension Associate I