You are here

Central MS Research & Ext Center

The Central Mississippi Research and Extension Center (CMREC) is located in Raymond, Mississippi. It provides oversight to a staff of state specialists from the Mississippi State University Extension Service and Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station (MAFES). Research is conducted to address problems in the immediate area.

Southwest Mississippi counties served by the Center are Adams, Amite, Claiborne, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Jefferson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Leake, Madison, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Warren, and Wilkinson.

Mission & History

The mission of the Center is to develop a research and extension program based on a regional geographic area that would effectively serve the needs of the central and southern parts of the state with research, technology, and educational programs to improve the economic well being of the agricultural producers, industry, rural and urban citizens.

In 1990, a unique partnership was established between Hinds Community College, MAFES, MSU Extension Service and Mississippi State University to have the Central Mississippi Research and Extension Center located on the Hinds Agricultural campus in Raymond, Mississippi.

With the establishment of this partnership MAFES scientists, Extension and Hinds agricultural personnel develop educational programs, establish crop and livestock demonstrations of the latest agricultural technologies, and cooperate to provide research results and extension programs to the area clientele.

Three Branch Experiment Stations

Brown Loam Branch, also in Raymond, specializes in improving beef and forage systems and also studies cotton, soybean, corn, wheat, oats, and conservation management.

Coastal Plain Branch, near Newton, performs forage variety tests and small-game production studies.

Truck Crops Branch, near Crystal Springs, serves an urban-rural area with research on both commercial and home garden fruit and vegetable crops. It is also home of the annual Fall Flower and Garden Fest.

Telephone:
601-857-2284
Fax:
601-857-2358
MSU Mailstop:
9384
Mailing Address:
1320 Seven Springs Road
Raymond , MS
39154
Physical Address:
1320 Seven Springs Road
Raymond , Mississippi
39154

Personnel

Name Job Title Email
Portrait of Ms. Kathy S. Bryant Ms. Kathy S. Bryant Business Coordinator kathy.bryant@msstate.edu
Portrait of Ms. Paula L Hardy Ms. Paula L Hardy Office Associate p.hardy@msstate.edu
Portrait of Mr. Bill Maily Mr. Bill Maily Extension Associate III bill.maily@msstate.edu
Portrait of Dr. Rebecca A. Melanson Dr. Rebecca A. Melanson Assistant Extension Professor rebecca.melanson@msstate.edu
Portrait of Dr. Adam Rohnke Dr. Adam Rohnke Senior Extension Associate adam.rohnke@msstate.edu
Portrait of Ms. Janie Ellen Ross Ms. Janie Ellen Ross Office Associate janie.ross@msstate.edu
Portrait of Dr. Rick Snyder Dr. Rick Snyder Extension/Research Professor rick.snyder@msstate.edu
Portrait of Dr. Sherry Bell Surrette Dr. Sherry Bell Surrette Assoc Extension Prof & Head s.surrette@msstate.edu
Portrait of Dr. J. Byron Williams Dr. J. Byron Williams Associate Extension Professor b.williams@msstate.edu
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Select Your County Office

Portrait of Dr. Sherry Bell Surrette
Assoc Extension Prof & Head